Friday, May 11, 2012

Tummy Issues... :(

I'd like to start out by saying that I am hardly ever sick.  Yeah...a headache here or there...but the flu and colds just don't really come by me all too often.  And I am really ok with that.

Yesterday, I did my morning routine...get up, let Max out to go potty, make my coffee, feed Max, and get my paper and pumping stuff and go sit in my spot on the couch.  (Yeah, I'm not predictable AT ALL!! LOL!!)  Anyway, I drank my coffee and got finished pumping, and noticed that my tummy wasn't feeling very good.  Not lower, like crampy or anything like that...it just hurt under my boobs but above my belly button.  It didn't hurt THAT bad...so I went about my day.
By the time I got in my car to go home from work...I felt like my intestines had literally been percolating ALL DAY!!   You know...where even though the radio is on and you are driving 45 down the freeway (I'd like to say I was driving 65, but there is always a ton of traffic on my drive home, so we are lucky to get to 45) you can HEAR your stomach a rumbling!!  NOT GOOD!!

I got home and immediately had to use the bathroom.  I figured getting whatever was causing my upset stomach OUT, would make everything better.  Well, it did make it better.  For about an hour.  UGH!!  We went to this place up the road for dinner, and I figured if I ate something kind of bland, then surely my stomach would feel better.  Hmmm....that ABLT (Avocado, Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato on white bread, no mayo) I ate...nope.  Just made it ache even more.  Once we got home, it was back to the bathroom I went.  And then, I felt like I was in there every half hour or so.  And when you can't tell the difference if you are peeing or pooping...well...that sucks!!  Pepto Bismol was my friend last night.  I would have totally thought that everything would have been out of my system...but first thing this morning...NOPE!!  Seriously!!  NOT FUN!!!  And I know that I mentioned this in a previous blog of mine, but you know you are in trouble if you don't have the courage to fart because you are not 100% sure if only AIR will come out.  THAT just SUCKS!!  IDK...I kind of feel like my Large Intestine was sparring with my Small Intestine.  Give me a break!!  I'm seriously afraid to eat anything, so I had a bowl of cereal today for breakfast and a yogurt for lunch.  Maybe the yogurt will let my flora flourish or some shit like that.  (Excuse the pun!)

OK...they say shit or get off the pot...so from here on out...no more poop stories.

Did I tell you about our air conditioner?  NO?  Oh...what a story.

About a month ago, Levi, Eva, Elias, Liz, and James (I guess it must have been Easter) came over for dinner.  The day was gorgeous...a rare thing on Easter!!  Since Levi has M.S., I turned on the AC so that the house would be cool for him. A few hours later, I went over to one of the vents and noticed that the air was blowing, but that's all it was doing.  Just blowing...NOT COLD.  Just air.  Hmmm...

A couple of days later, we had a heating and cooling guy come out and service the unit (since it had been almost 2 years) so they could make sure everything was in tip top shape.  Everything looked great, but....

There was ZERO freon in the unit.  Say Whaaa?  How does freon just "go away?"  So, the guy thinks that when Kent put up the wall to our work out room in the garage, he must have hit the copper freon line with one of his nails.  SHIT!!  NOT GOOD!!  So, about 2 weeks go by and Kent starts looking for where he might have put a nail through the line.  That involved taking the drywall down that he had put up a few weeks back, and listening for a small spoosh of air.  He listened, and listened, and listened.  No spoosh.  So then we figured that maybe the cable dude that came out and hooked up the t.v. in the weight room might have hit the line on the outside while he was running his cable.  So Kent starts cutting squares into the drywall, only to find that it's not the cable guys fault, AND it's not Kent's fault either.  DUN DUN DUN.....mystery!!

So, today, the air conditioning guy comes back out and works and works at trying to detect a leak.  And guess what.  He couldn't find one.  Zero/zilch/NADA!!  So, if we add the 2 bills together, we just spent around 900 bones on finding absolutely nothing!!  The guy did put freon back in...and there is a year warranty so that if it goes out again, then they will come back out.  So that's a plus.  But it's super baffling to not know why our freon disappeared. Oh, and by the way.  It would have cost about 700 bucks to run a new copper line out to the unit.  That's for the copper cost ONLY!!  Talk about spendy!!  Wonder how many pennies I would need to melt down to make that much copper.  HAHAHAHAHA!!

This concludes today's shitty and HOT story!!  Oh...and Happy Momma's day to all of you great momma's out there!!  <3

Friday, May 4, 2012

UGH!!

When I first started this blog, I told you that it would be good therapy for me, right?  I guess you are supposed to be able to tell your therapist everything, so starting today, my therapy is writing, and you (readers) are my therapist.  And I suppose you dish your dirt to the therapist...no matter how mundane, or taboo.

In one of my first posts, I told how I was a fixer.  I mentioned wanting to fix my children's problems, fix the homeless people that are on every corner, fix it so that NO babe would be without breast milk.  But, one of the people that I have always tried to "fix" is my sister.

Ever since we were little, my sister and I have been very close.  You would never think that she was 2 years older than I am.  Why?  Because I have always been the "older" sister in theory.  And along with being the "older" sibling, I try to mother her.  That, in itself, is my problem.  I mother her.

Last night, I sent her a text, half joking, (although, I know there is always a half truth in everything one says) asking her if "Our house isn't good enough for her, anymore?"  Back story for a moment...

My sister has been renting rooms for about 3 years now.  She started renting from a gal in Lincoln City, and that didn't work out....so she rented another room from a couple in L.C. and lived there until she moved to Portland.  She moved in with us for about a month or 2, and then moved in with a gal that Kent used to work with.  From there, the gal got married and so the newlyweds preferred not to have a room mate.  So Maryann looked on Craigslist and found a room for rent with a dude and they got along great.  At first.  Then, the dudes old roommates brother moved in.  (Wrap your brain around THAT one!!)  Things were going well, but then the 2 dudes started bickering and complaining about each other and seemed to put Maryann in the middle.  Plus, the 2 dudes were pigs and M was bitching because she felt the need to clean up after them.  So, she couldn't stand it anymore, and found a different room to rent of off Craigslist.  She gave the new guy his rent money, spent one night there at the new house, and decided that she made a bad move (no pun intended).  So, as we were talking about her moving into this new room, she told me that she was afraid to stay at the new place, alone, because when she went there with all of her things, the guy was drunk and somewhat belligerent.  I told her to come stay the week at our house since Kent was out of town.  I then talked to Kent and he told me no...there was no way he was going to let her stay with us again.  Well, I may or may not have manipulated the situation, but he gave in, and said he would help her get on track with her life.  So, in she moved.

Back to the text from last night.  I was a little irritated with her because even though she is 42 years old, I still like to know if she is coming home for dinner or whatever.  I like to be "in the know."  I call it respect.  You respect the person enough to tell them when and if they will be home.  I would expect it from my children, and my husband, and I know they would expect it from me.  So, I texted her the above, and she said that she was at Dean's watching movies until she had to go to work.  (Dean is the person that took over her room at the place she moved out of where the 2 dudes couldn't get along.)  Ummm. OK?  YOU try making sense of this!!

So, the texts went like this:
Me- 'I know I am not your mother...and you are old enough to take care of yourself, but I do think it's rude to not tell me you won't be here for dinner.  I mean, you probably didn't even come back here after your doctor's appt?  Are we just a place to crash when you need it and it's convenient?  I don't get it.  I really don't.'
Her- 'You're right and I apologize.  I guess I'm too used to being alone and I'd be sleeping if I was there.  I know this'll sound ungrateful but I feel very uncomfortable there, I don't belong.  As soon as I can, I need my own space so I can stop intruding in yours.'

I won't bore you with the other texts because there was a lot of profanity (on my part.)

I'm frustrated.  I'm frustrated with her that at 42, she still doesn't have her shit together.  I'm frustrated at me because at 40...I'm still trying to be her mother.  Ashlyn told me this morning that I am frustrated with Maryann because I want her to have a good life, like mine.

But, as of today, and you all can help me be held accountable, I'm done mothering.  She has a mother.  And that isn't me.  I guess you would call me an enabler?  I enable her to be dependent on everybody but her.  I can't do it anymore.  Just like I can't fix my children's problems.  And I can't fix the world.  (I can't be like the ASPCA and spay and neuter everything and everybody.)  HAHAHAHA!!!  Sorry, a tiny bit of humor there.

My heart is heavy and still a little pissed off.  But, I need to do what needs to be done.  I can't look back, because it won't do me any good.

Thanks for listening to (reading) my frustration.  I am open to constructive criticism if you have any ideas for me.

And Maryann...if you read this, please know that I love you and really want what's best for you.  I know that you can be anything you want to be and you have the brains to do it.  On your own.  :)

Friday, April 27, 2012

HAHAHAHAHA!!

I was driving to Target this morning to get items to send to my sweet girl in Afghanistan.  While driving, my eyes came upon a man running.  I see people running all the time.  Why am I telling you about a man running?  Well, the man was running, but was holding his boobs so they would not be flopping up and down.  NO LIE!!

Now, I can appreciate anybody who runs.  I really can.  Because the only time I really run, is when I am being chased by something big and slobbery, OR if someone is chasing after me.  Key word here?  CHASE!!  And I am not talking about the bank!!  Anyway, I digress.  This man was holding his arm over him moobs (man boobs for those who are not in the know) and running.  Me thinks, perhaps, he should invest in a mbra (man bra!!)  Poor guy.  I'm not a runner, but when I do, I put on the appropriate sports bra.

Did you know that it takes 21 days for you doing something, to become a habit?  I take off my make-up at night, and put lotion on my face.  And, it's a habit, because I don't like make-up on my pillow case, and I don't like looking like a raccoon in the morning if I fail to take the make-up off.  I ran out of my favorite lotion this morning.  Darn it.  So, it's also a habit for me to lotion up, after I get out of the shower.  Well, since I ran out of lotion, I decided to concoct my own and put several other lotions into my lotion bottle.  I was feeling very much like Mary Kay.  That's how she got started, right?  Just kidding...I don't know if that how she built her empire, but just go with it. K?  Anyway, back to lotionizing.  I put this lotion and that lotion and that lotion and this lotion into my lotion bottle, specifically, because I know that there was a tiny bit of MY lotion left in the bottle...clinging to the sides AND that my bottle is a pump bottle so it's easy peasy.  Waste not, want not...or something like that.  As I am "lotionizing"...Max comes in and starts licking the air.  Yeah.  Smart dog we have, right?  Lotion air particles?  I don't know.  So I mix my lotion and try a little on my face and arms and Max just stands there...licking at the air.  And he's looking at me like I am rubbing dog food all over me.  Seriously dog...you are creeping me out!!  I'll have to see if he acts weird when I put lotion on my face tonight. 

It's Friday, It's Friday...gotta get down on Friday.  Oh Rebecca Black!!  You have totally ruined the catch phrase "It's Friday" for me.  Bitch!!

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Red Faced!!

Holy cow!!  If y'all could see my face right now, you would see it's as pink as the sweater I am wearing.  Hot pink...to be exact!!

I work in a office that has 5 lawyers, and 2 mental health professionals in it.  One of the mental health nurse practitioners see's patients, here in his office.  I don't know any of his patients by name...only when they come in and say they are here to see the Dr.  Anyway, the Dr. saw this patient and the patient leaves, but then comes back in a moment later, after the Dr. has already called another patient in.  The patient comes up to me and asks me where the bathroom is.  Ummm...well.  How do I say this?  The person had on earrings which were feminine and dangly, but....totally looked like a dude.  How do decipher which restroom to point them to when you are not sure of their gender?  So, I said there was a restroom behind them (the womens) and there was also a restroom around the corner. (the mens.)  They went into the womens.  I guess it was a woman?  I'll have to ask the Dr. if I can contain my embarrassment while asking.

On another note...I.AM.STARVING!!!  Like, really, really hungry.  I brought in some brownies  yesterday and there were two left when I came in today.  I threw them away, because I am sure they were stale after sitting here all night.  But what I REALLY would like to do, is fish them babies out of the garbage and eat them (secretly, of course) but I won't.  I do have some apple chai oatmeal I could have, but I guess I am not THAT hungry, because it doesn't even sound good. (or the fact that I had a bad headache a couple weeks ago and actually threw up oatmeal...so yeah....I might have to just throw it away because the thought of it makes me kinda blech!!)     :)

Feeling a little down today...and yes, it's due to the break up of my oldest child.  I don't know why it has affected me the way it has, but now I (kind of, but not really) know how my ex-mother-in-law felt when Shawn and I got divorced.  And Ashlyn and Robbies relationship wasn't even...what's the word I want?  Viable?  I mean, it was viable, and they were engaged and everything, but it's not like they were actually married and had started a life together.  Like with a bank account or anything.  Or kids.  Or dogs.  Or co-mingling of the combat boots and camouflage.  But...starting right this moment...I am done with my pity party.  She will have other loves and probably some other heart-breaks.  And Michael and Kayte will have loves and break-ups and ups and downs.  And I promise that I won't get "butt hurt" when any of their relationships fail.  Cause I just have to put on my big girl panties...and deal.  RIGHT??!!  Right.

I'm still hungry.  Marlene (my sweet boss-(she might read this.) says that there is always cereal in her office that I can have.  But, I just feel kind of weird about having some.  I shake my head at myself...cause that is weird in itself.  I mean, she says to help myself...but I can't bring myself to do it.  (Insert eye roll at myself HERE!!)  You all would laugh because I LITERALLY DID shake my head and do an eye roll.  LOL!!!

OK...off to eat some mints. 


Friday, April 20, 2012

I read something today...

I read something today, and it really struck a chord with me.  It is a quote off of Pinterest and I feel like it pretty much sums me up today.

It reads:
"Sometimes, the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess.  Just breathe, and have faith that everything works out for the best."

Yes.  This sums up my thoughts and feelings perfectly.

If you could not tell from other posts, or from talking to me in general, I tend to obsess about things.  A grand trait, if you ask me.  (NOT!!)

Things I tend to think, wonder, imagine, and obsess about.

I wonder if my children are truly happy?

I wonder WHY my dog HAS to sniff my crotch.  It's not like I smell like a dogs butt...at least I HOPE I don't (and if I do, PLEASE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, SOMEONE TELL ME!!)   I come home, and he heads RIGHT for el crotcho.  REALLY Max?  REALLY??!! 

I wonder if the male checker at Albertson's by my house is ALWAYS bubbly and upbeat.  It is really refreshing to go to that store and find someone like him.  If he isn't always like this, then he is a dang good faker!!

On another note, someone came into the office yesterday to pay on their bill, and they said that their Paypal account (which was connected to their bank account) got hit from somewhere in the UK for over $9000.00!!  YIKES!!!  Makes me really paranoid that that could happen to just anybody.  And, if you don't look at your Paypal account very often, you only have 45 days to file a complaint.  THAT'S just crazy!! 

I would probably (hopefully) know if something was awry, since there isn't any money in my Paypal account, and it would come directly out of my bank account if someone were to hack into it.  And, ask my honey...I am pretty obsessive when it comes to my bank account.  He will be like..."I went to lunch at so and so...." and I'm like..."I know.  I saw it come out of the bank."  And he's like..."geez....I can't keep ANYTHING from you when it has to deal with buying something."  LOL!!  I don't look every hour or anything like that, but it just seems to happen right after he buys something.  Makes me chuckle.

I would love to be a little more obsessive about the cleanliness of my house.  I love a place for everything and everything in it's place...but I am running out of places in my house.  LOL!!  Doesn't help that I LOVE paper items.  As in, if I go to Staples, Office Max or Depot, or down the business aisle at Costco...I just want one of everything.  Really!!  And the smell of paper items.  My mother is the same way.  I must have inherited that from her.  MMMMM....printer paper.  Some girls like the smell of flowers...NAH...Give me the smell of Office Depot and this girl is in heaven!!

Speaking of smells.  I am pretty obsessive about bathroom smells.  I know, I know.  Everybody poops.  But, I don't want to smell it, thank you.  I don't want to even smell my own!!  LOL!!  Ashlyn told me one time, as we were in a public restroom, the way to prevent smells in the bathroom is a "courtesy flush."  Who knew??!!  You are half way through...and you give a flush.  Down goes the nasty, and doesn't sit in the toilet...stinking the place up!!  Good to know.  (It's AMAZING what they teach you in the Army!!)  LOL!!  Oh...and I can't stand the sprays that mask the odor.  It's like...here's some flower scented shit.  Oh, you don't like floral scents?  Well, here's some baby powder scented shit.  You get the idea!!  There is a bathroom spray called "Pure Citrus."  That stuff is THE BOMB!!  It takes the scent away...I kid you not.  (This is not a paid advertisement!!)

I was eating a boiled egg for lunch at work today and I was hoping and praying that nobody would walk by and think that I farted.  True story!!

Smells...yeah...they are awesome!!

It's supposed to be nice and sunny this weekend.  And it's about time.  I swear...I am starting to grow webbing between my toes!!

Have an awesome weekend all.  :)






Tuesday, April 17, 2012

DRUNK!!

How to have a Tuesday morning hangover.

As if I even need to talk you through this one.  And just so everyone is on the same page, I did NOT have a hangover...but...there definitely was room for me to have one.

So...here is the walk through on ways to achieve a Tuesday Morning Hangover...

Step one: Eat a really good spaghetti dinner that your sweet honey made.

Step Two: Drink a small glass of wine with said dinner.

Step Three: Finish dinner...talk to ex-husband on phone and have another small glass of wine.

Step Four: Since the glasses were so small (honest!! they were!!) have the rest of an old wine that was sitting there in the bar.

Step Five: Dump out old wine cause it's nasty.

Step Six: Contemplate if you want another drink.  Open a bottle of wine?  Have a beer?  Name your poison...cause we have everything!!

Step Seven: Have your sweet honey make a super scrumptious drink.  Take one part Nut Butter Vodka, one part Pinnacle Chocolate Whipped Vodka...shake vigorously with ice, and pour into martini glass.  Add a spurt of alcohol infused chocolate whipped topping.

Step Eight: Take your drink upstairs and sip while cleaning out your closet.

Step Nine: Notice after a while that your drink is all gone.  (HOW the HELL did THAT happen?)  Mention casually to your sweet honey that your drink is gone.

Step 10: Notice that a NEW drink has MAGICALLY appeared.  But bigger!!  This one is all the way full!!  SAWEEEEEEET!!

Step 11: Finish up the closet cleaning and proclaim..."I think I'm drunk!!"

And that, my friends, is how to have a Tuesday Morning Hangover.  (Actually, I didn't really have a hangover, per say.  I just didn't feel really good...especially since I made myself throw up at 3am.  I think I might have been hung over had I not thrown up...so yeah...that's a good think in my book!!)


By the way...I made a couple changes to the format of my blog so that you can "follow" me if you want.  (You can add your email address at the bottom of the page, or follow with your gmail account towards the top.) Not that I am begging or anything.  Come on...you KNOW you want to!!  It will be fun!!  :)

Saturday, April 14, 2012

OK...so now that I have my first post out of the way...let's get down to business.

The past couple of days, I have been pretty down.  And I really hate feeling down.  For a while, after Vivian was born, I went on Zoloft to help me feel happier.  While I didn't feel like crying anymore (which is a good thing) I just felt flat.  Like a flat line that you would see in a movie where they were looking at the heart rate monitor and there would be beeps...and then...all of the sudden, NOTHING.  I am not a fan of feeling down...nor am I a fan of flat-lining. (That, and other side effects including nether-region topics that I won't visit with you.)   So, I went off of the Zoloft and the tears became real again.  Not necessarily crying each and every day, but just a down feeling, here and there.  Life doesn't help, I tell you that.

And I am hoping, with the help of putting my thoughts and feelings down on paper (or computer screen...same thing) I can try to see why I feel this way.

Yesterday was not a good day for me.  And I will tell you why.

My sis and I went to my favorite store (Goodwill Outlet) and she left after about 10 minutes because she felt guilty of being there when she had other stuff that she could be doing.  So, I browsed...found a super cute jacket to wear to work (and did I mention cheap!!  Yeah BABY!!)  I digress...

Anyway, Ashlyn, my sweet, sweet girl, who is currently stationed in Afghanistan, called me.  The connection was not very good, but I managed to talk to her for about 15 minutes or so.  And I asked her how Robbie (her fiance) was.  Her reply was that she didn't know, and that she hadn't talked to him in a month, and hadn't emailed or received an email from him in about 2 weeks.

THAT broke my heart.  :(

I just want her to be happy...really ridiculously happy.  But, sadly, I know that life gets in the way...and there is NO WAY that she will be able to be happy 100% of the time.  But, it's something that we all want for our children, and when things go awry, I tend to want to be a fixer.

THERE!!  I SAID IT!!  I got it out there...and I would really like to be held accountable for that one sentence.  I TEND TO BE A FIXER.

I don't know why, but I want to "fix" the world.  I want to help people...but, I know that it's not my job to help everybody.  And honestly, this is something that I struggle with.  ALL.THE.TIME.

I sometimes wonder what happened to me when I was little to have this mothering instinct and just want to help people.  I mean, homeless people that stand on the corners kill me.  I would love to give everyone a couple of bucks everytime I see them.  But...ummm...that's a heck of a lot of money cause it's almost every street corner that I see someone.  And then, I feel guilty as I am driving away from them.  WHATTHEHECK??

About a month ago, I started pumping only twice a day.  (For those who are curious...I am a 2 time surrogate, and I had little Vivian Dec 2nd and was pumping for her, however, the pediatrician thought it best that she go on formula for her digestive system and I didn't want to stop pumping...)  And I felt that sent me into a tailspin, because I KNOW that there are so many needy babies that need breastmilk.  And I felt guilty (again) because I am able to pump this wonderful liquid gold and donate to babies...and here I was, only pumping in the morning, and at night.  So, I added another pump session in there, and even though I only get 2-3 ounces in that 15-20 minute session, I feel better.  Weird.  Really weird.

I posted a query on Facebook yesterday, asking how YOU stop yourself from wanting to help people all the time.  I was surprised that I only got 4 people to say something...and it wasn't very helpful.  Perhaps they thought that it was just a musing that I had and that I didn't really want people to answer.  LOL!!

OK...back to why yesterday wasn't a good day.  I couldn't fix my little girls problems.  And I hate that.  There is a lack of communication between the two of them, and distance is not helping.  AT.ALL.  That, and, a small amount of immaturity on both of their ends.  There.  I said it...I am just being honest.  Their relationship is still so new and they have been apart now for 8 months...and there really wasn't a whole lot of them being together before she left...I mean, a flight here and there to see each other...but not really being together, together.  Like living and seeing eachother each and every day, together.  I know they started out seeing each other everyday, but then, distance set in...her in Texas, him in Georgia.  Distance can be a relationship killer for sure.  That, and lack of communication, being insecure (you don't have to talk to me about being insecure...I know first hand that I am STILL insecure about certain things) and did I mention distance?  Yeah...all rolled into one clusterfuck of a not good time.  I feel bad for the two of them.  I just want them to be happy.  And when momma's happy....yeah.

I went to work after I talked to her and proceeded to get a raging headache.  So, smart me...took some Excedrin.  I don't know what happened but the headache got worse, and by the time I started driving home, all I wanted to do was puke.  And the half hour drive home felt like 2 freaking hours.  I wanted to pull over somewhere and puke into my lunch/milk bag, but I didn't.  I finally made it home.  KK was such a sweetheart that she made me some peppermint tea, and brought crackers (nicely arranged, no less) on a tray with 3 tea packs, 2 hot apple cider packs, water, and ice, along with the hot water for my tea.  And honestly, (after I threw up) I ate the crackers and drank the tea, and I felt better.  Oh, and I took some Ibuprofen and it kicked that headache right in the nuts...so it left!!  YAY!!

So...that was my day.  And, it was Friday the 13th.  Not that I believe in anything like that...lol.

Yes...it's ANOTHER BLOG!!!!

ANOTHER blog?  Really?

Yes, really.  I feel like when I wrote my 2 other blogs, it was many, many moons ago.  And right now, I am kinda feeling a hankering to start writing again.  Perhaps with wordy words...I can express myself and not have to seek therapy.  

So, this blog is to help me with my sanity...and daily musing from whatever "aisle" I might be in at the time.

So sit down (you probably already are since you are reading this and most people do not stand when they are on their computers, or smart devices), grab a cup of something....or not....and enjoy.